Prime Minister, Taur Matan Ruak presides the council meeting, (Image Tatoli/ Egas Cristovao)

DILI, 16 September 2020 (TATOLI)– Council of Minister has approved a second payment draft to non-scholarship students residing abroad who are struggling with the Covid-19 pandemic.

The Draft is introduced by the Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation, Adaljiza Albertina Xavier Reis Magno.

According to Mr. Magno the adjustment will cover a mechanism for few more countries thus the number of Timorese students to receive the grant payments will increase when the pandemic is continuing to bring the dramatic effect to the world.

“Students that will receive the second backdated payments are residing in Bangladesh, Belgium, China, South Korea, UK, Mozambique and Singapore,” Ms. Magno said.

The Government has allocated $1.3 million in financial aid for some 2.351 non-scholarship students residing abroad, in United State of America, Portugal, Brazil, Vietnam, Malaysia, Philippines, Thailand, India, Australia and Indonesia.

The three months subsidy for the first period was made in a single payment and the payments amount were different based on the country’s locations.

Students residing in United Nation America (USA) were each received US$1000, while students who residing in Philippines, Brazil, Thailand, Vietnam, Malaysia were entitled to US$150 and those residing in Indonesia were receiving US$100 each and students residing in Australia and Portugal entitled to US$500.

Journalist: Antónia Gusmão

Editor: Julia Chatarin/Nick Kettle


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here